Leadership and Innovation Award in Community and Restorative Justice


The National Association on Community and Restorative Justice will periodicly hone a recipient at its biannual conference for leadership in restorative and/or community justice. The award shall recognize individuals, groups or organizations that have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in the fields of restorative and community justice.

Award Criteria

The award shall recognize individuals/groups/organizations for exemplary leadership in restorative and/or community justice education, research and/or practice. The nominee(s):

  • Has made innovative contributions to the theory or practice in the field to broaden the application, apply principles and values, or develop new perspectives based on restorative or community justice.
  • Continually looks for innovative ways to improve his/her/their work and create outstanding results in the restorative and/or community justice fields.
  • Pursues opportunities and actively seeks innovative ways to advance the fields of restorative and/or community justice.
  • Recognizes, understands, and appreciates that people from multiple cultures and experiences view problems and opportunities differently.
  • Sets the example by always dealing ethically in all relationships and by maintaining the highest personal standards.
  • Seen as a bridge builder and peacemaker by others.
  • Models the principles, values and practices of restorative and/or community justice by:
    • Taking prompt, decisive action to avoid or resolve problems.
    • Sharing responsibility, leadership, vision, talent, and credit with others.
    • Extending respect and courtesy to all, no matter how difficult the circumstances.
    • Conducting their personal and professional lives consistent with those principles, values and practices.

2015 Recipient

Janice Jerome, Executive Director, Restorative Justice Institute of Atlanta, LLC

IMG 2039 RSG Janice Jerome receives the Leadership Award with her Colleagues

Janice Jerome demonstrates the type of leadership that draws people from the community to Restorative Justice work.  Through her leadership she is able to help them address community problems using dialogue driven practices rooted in the values and principles of restorative and community justice. 

Her work is through the Restorative Justice Institute of Atlanta as well as her church which supports and promotes her community organizing efforts.  These efforts have made a difference in the lives of many people as well as the communities in which they live and work.  In these ways she has helped members of her community understand and respond to harms and conflicts in constructive ways that are effective while also promoting peace, understanding, reparation and accountabilty.

She is a consummate leader with a vision of a more constructive future which she is able to convey and motivate others to work toward.  She uses a dialogue driven personal style that is respectful, considerate, informed, and open.  As a result, Janice is able to motivate others to give their best efforts as they work together to develop and execute plans for a more just, livable, and safe community.  She has wisdom beyond her years.  This wisdome is combined with a strong work ethic and personal diligence.  She seems tireless and able to do the work of several people with love, dignity, respect and integrity.  She is a living model of effective leadership within the community and restorative justice movement. 

As a side note, Janice Jerome received two nominations for the Leadership Award independent of one anothers.  This is unusual and noteworthy in itself.


2013 - Not Awarded


2011 - Recipient

Janet Conner - Restorative Justice Educator, Victim Advocate and Peace Activist, Boston, MA.

National Conferences

The next National Conference on Community and Restorative Justice will be in Oakland, CA on June 16-18, 2017 with a pre-conference training session on June 15, 2017- SAVE THE DATES.

Register today...

thumbnail 52490 Rjoy Conference Flyer Updated 01 2

You may submit nominations for NACRJ awards using our Award Nominations online form. Deadline for nominations EXTENDED to April 30, 2017.

Check out past National Conferences on Restorative Jusitice (2007, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015) from the Conferences tab.

Post Conference Training Opportunities in the San Francisco Bay Area (June 19, 2017 and June 20-23 & 26-29, 2017)

NACRJ Youth Poet PerformingYouth Poet Performing

Find NACRJ on Facebook