NACRJ Programs

Jan. 14, 2021 - American democracy

Reflections on American democracy: A Restorative Response

Date:  Jan. 14, 2021

Time:  5:30p-7:30 pm PT; 6:30-8:30 pm MT; 7:30-9:30pm CT; 8:30-10:30p ET

Registration:   CLICK HERE

Note:  Youth are welcome to join us if they certify that they have received parent(s) or guardian(s) consent. 

Note:  This is FREE event but registration is required.

Registration Deadline:   Wednesday, Jan. 13, 2021 at 10 pm (all time zones)

Description:  In response to the events that occurred at our nation’s Capital on Tuesday, January 6th, NACRJ is offering a free, non-partisan, online community sharing circle. 

If nothing else, the past year has helped us realize the need for authentic connection, expression, relationship, and community-building especially during times of uncertainty, uprising, grieving, fear, and challenge. On January 6, 2021 a mob of extremists forced their way into the Capitol in an attempt to prevent or intimidate lawmakers in the process of certifying the Electoral College votes for President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris.  While the attempt failed, it left the nation traumatized.  This listening circle is a restorative response.

In the last several months hundreds of people from across the country have come together in NACRJ’s Online Community Sharing Circles on current events, harms, needs and opportunities. We are honored to be with you in holding these spaces and wish to offer this event as a sacred space of deep listening to one another.

Nov. 7, 2020 - NACRJ Post-Election Listening Circle

NACRJ Post-Election Listening Circle
A Free Public Service Event

Due to the long, deeply polarized 2020 election campaign, NACRJ has decided to host a FREE non-partisan event.

Post-Election Listening Circle

Date: Saturday, November 7, 2020
Time (by Time Zone): 9-11a PT, 10a-12p MT, 11a-1p CT, 12-2p ET
Registration Deadline: Nov. 6, 2020 at 5 pm (all time zones)

Event Description
This non-partisan public service event is confidential. We will hold space for processing and sharing our experiences from the 2020 election cycle. This event is open to minor youth (less than age 18) if they can certify that they have parental/guardian consent for their participation.

If nothing else, 2020 has taught us the necessity for creating space for authentic connection, expression and relationship and community-building especially during times of uncertainty, uprising, grieving, fear, and challenge.

Since April, about 500 people from across the country have come together in NACRJ’s Online Community Sharing Circles to share views, experiences, and emotions related to current events, harms, needs and opportunities. We are honored to be with you in holding these spaces and wish to offer this event as a sacred space of deep listening to one another.

Although this is a free event, all participants need to register online.
Use these links to learn more and register:

Learn More

Register

If you have any questions about either upcoming event, please feel free to contact:
Ames Stenson: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Oct. 27, 2020 - NACRJ Online

Addressing Harm & Establishing Hope in our Educational Landscape
Parts 2 & 3

Online Event for Students, Families & Youth Service Providers

Date: Oct. 27, 2020   Time: 7:30-9:30 pm CT (8:30-10:30 pm ET, 6:30-8:30 pm MT, 5:30-7:30 pm PT)

Description: Earlier this month we postponed the second part of our series on Addressing Harm & Establishing Hope in our Educational Landscape. We are now offering a combined event Oct. 27, 2020 with Parts 2 and 3 integrated into one event. This gathering will focus on acknowledging the harms experienced by students due to the pandemic and hold space for creating repair and support for students in our current educational landscape. Combining Parts 2 and 3 allows for deeper conversation among students/young people, their families and other youth service providers regarding harms and needs during this time. Don’t miss our dynamic, young person panel and breakout circles sessions with student circle keepers holding space for attendees. Join us for a powerful, timely conversation to create healing and hope! 

Registration Deadline  - EXTENDED TO... Oct. 27, 2020  (11:59 am - All Time Zones)

Registration Fee: $10.00 (credit card only)
**Please Note: Registration for student/youth registrants is free of charge, and students/youth will be required to confirm that have obtained consent from their parents before they are able to register and attend.

To register for this event, click here.

Sept. 12, 2020 - NACRJ On-Line

Addressing Harm & Establishing Hope in our Educational Landscape
Part 1

Online Community Sharing Event

Date:  Sept. 12, 2020    Time:  11:00 am - 2 pm CT (12 pm-3 pm ET, 10am-1pm MT, 9am-12pm PT)

Description:  This gathering will focus on acknowledging the harms experienced by teachers, school staff and administrators due to the pandemic, and also hold space for creating repair and support for educators in our current educational landscape.

    • How can restorative practices support educators navigate stress within current in-person and online classrooms?
    • How can restorative practices help create supportive, inclusive, anti-racist and trauma-responsive environments for online and in-person classrooms?
    • How can restorative practices help establish more relational and accountable classrooms that support teachers and students?
    • How can restorative practices assist educators in building and rebuilding connection with each other and their students?

Join us for a powerful, timely conversation to create healing and hope! 

Registration Fee:   $10.00 (credit card only)

Registration for Part 1 - CLOSED

Note:  Registration for Part 2 on October 3 will open soon.